The Moment of Realization + Different Schools of Thought

The Moment of Realization:

A while ago I wrote about guides and how in some cases they cater to the lowest common denominator. So there’s this short story we’re reading in college by Peter Ho Davis about a creative writing teacher who is teaching at a troubled middle school somewhere in America. In this excerpt the fictional teacher has just given to his students advice on how to write short stories:

I felt my heart clench. I think about explaining that the rule ought to be: “Write what you want whatever you know just a little bit more about than your reader.” But what I want to tell them is that these rules aren’t, after all, rules for writers; they’re rules for people who are trying to be writers but won’t ever make it. -Peter Ho Davis What You Know

Different Schools of Thought:

I was reading through the various different blogs on the Internet and came across Daren Rowse’s site problogger. He’s actually a very well known blogger who writes about how to be a pro blogger. His articles feature tips on how to SEO, make the most out of your Google Adsense and tips on how to be more productive.

It’s a very popular site and he even has some great articles on how to write. And then I was thinking about our site and how we have a completely different school of thought. While Daren writes about the mechanics and logistics required to run a profitable blog, we here at Best Blogs take the emo touchy feely approach and attempt to help our readers understand why the hell they’re here on the Internet in the first place.

4 Responses to “The Moment of Realization + Different Schools of Thought”


  1. 1 davidbdale 5 December, 2006 at 12:15 am

    Maybe I’ve come to the wrong place. I thought a Best Blogs blog would be more of an “Editor’s Picks” or “People’s Choice” sort of guide to overlooked blogs that deserve a wider readership.

    I do like your example of the writing teacher’s little crisis of conscience. It’s probably true nothing he could say will help anybody “make it.” He can’t contribute to his students’ talent or luck or perseverance. He might be able to offer some tips about craft, but they’ll be wasted on writers who don’t have talent, or luck, or perseverance.

    But for that one student in his class who has all three, that tip could make all the difference!

  2. 2 Michael 5 December, 2006 at 12:25 am

    Hey I totally know what you mean about the blog reviews. Yeah we’ve been kind of slacking off in that regard.

    I dunno I just started writing these little articles and people seemed to like them so I continued to do them.

    We’re kind of at a point where I feel super nervous about doing any reviews. We have people leaving comments left and right begging to be reviewed and it makes for a very uncomfortable situation. Once you start reviewing those kinds of blogs you have to review every request you get.

    I still review things through the “next” button on wordpress.com but even that gets a bit stressful over time. Ah I guess I’m just dodging the question.

    Yeah that story with the teacher is actually quite fascinating. The problem with advice giving is that sometimes “accomplished” writers give out the advice that people want to hear. Ah but that’s being to harsh…everyone can be a good writer, it’s just that not everyone has the right attitude.

  3. 3 davidbdale 5 December, 2006 at 12:54 am

    I’m completely sympathetic to your plight, and for exactly the reasons you cite. It’s an impossible situation to even pretend to know what “the best” of anything is, particularly once you’ve surrendered your anonymity.

    For me, the “next button” is like picking up magazines with no covers. I’m much more likely to enjoy what’s inside if I have some idea what content to expect before I dive in.

    Of course, recommendations are best, from bloggers whose taste we trust.

  4. 4 Yoga 8 December, 2006 at 5:24 am

    I got here by mistake, but I really agree with you.
    I am in the yoga , but what ever action you take, you can do it with a purpose of… money, seo, title and so on.
    And you can do it just for the sake of fun.
    I think the fun wins. for sure it is more fun.


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

