Creativity in Blogging

I was thinking about blogging for the last couple of weeks and how certain people tend to succeed a blogging while other’s do not. Writing a blog requires passion, work and creativity. It is an art form in itself and in many ways is harder than writing for a daily newspaper.

I was in my University’s career center looking through some of the books on print journalism and I discovered that a weekly columnist generally gets paid more than a staff writer. What? How does that work?

If a staff writer is required to write several times a week then why does a columnist receive more money for a column that is only published once a week? Now this discussion isn’t about money but it helps to understand the situation. The columnist is being paid to be creative and the staff writer is being paid to crank out news articles.

I’ve done some research on this and apparently a staff writer will use a standard template to pump out multiple news articles to fill the news section of the paper. Feature writers get paid a little more; then opinions writers and so on. The point is that the more you head up the creativity scale, the harder the work gets.

Blogging is great because there are no boundaries to what you can do as a writer. If you want to write about how significant your MacBook purchase was, you can have it your way. No responsibilities and no there to tell you what to do. I know it sounds cliched to say it, but blogging is freedom.

Now that doesn’t mean that everyone’s good at it. If you’re regurgitating the news via RSS syndication, then that’s not very good at all. If you’re regurgitating the news and throwing out a couple of comments then that’s kind of better. But the truly good blogs, or at least the ones with the most intellectual value, are the ones with good original content.

Far too often I hear people discuss in comment/forums/ about “your [their] site’s content” when in fact their content is somebody elses content with a few random idea’s and bits of commentary thrown to the wind. And that’s not to make fun of anyone in particular. Being creative is hard. Oil painting is hard. Poetry is hard. Dancing is hard. And now blogging is hard.

Well what are you waiting for? Get to it!

30 Responses to “Creativity in Blogging”


  1. 1 bloglily 2 September, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    Michael! It sounds like you landed on your feet at school. That’s great news indeed.

    I think your comparison of blogging to column writing is quite apt. It helps to have a focus, which can make it easier to get started as you sit in front of an empty screen. It also helps to know yourself and know how much is enough and how much is too much. Better to blog less than kill yourself (and your readers) with frequent, passion-less posts.

    I think the most important motivator for any good work is pleasure. If you love what you do, you will do it long enough and often enough to become good at it. Write about what you love and everything else will follow.

  2. 2 Michael 2 September, 2006 at 1:01 pm

    Passion is a very important part to blogging. Although I could get into an entirely different post on fake passion and suck ups.

    Ha ha but yes I’m here. That’s right folks I’m officially a college brat. It’s good to be back Lily.

  3. 3 Ganesh kumar 5 September, 2006 at 7:49 pm

    very true as u said blogging is passion of the desired.

  4. 4 Lady Ingenious! 6 September, 2006 at 3:19 am

    Very true!!!

  5. 5 joe 6 September, 2006 at 6:12 am

    I’m kinda new to blogging and I’ve spent a lot of time looking around at other blogs. I was getting a bit disillusioned by all the blogs that just regurgitate the news of the day. Thanks for encouraging those of us who try to be different 🙂

  6. 6 Apres Ski 7 September, 2006 at 2:10 am

    Thank you for encouraging people to quit lying, cheating, and stealing from others and to start being original on their own.

    Yes, it’s hard work being original, but that’s a reward in & of itself. We’ve become far too lazy in today’s society and we need to get up off those fat, potato-chipped duffs and get cracking on our own original ideas.

    Thank you!

  7. 7 Apres Ski 7 September, 2006 at 2:11 am

    Originality is a True Minority these days!

  8. 8 Doc Hancock 7 September, 2006 at 2:16 am

    I’ve been blogging for over a year now.

    When I first started this, I was very unsure of what to write in my blog on Blogger, which is a morning-time blog that I update every morning (it’s currently on hiatus because of a computer problem), so I just wrote things about my job, which I got tired of doing really fast.

    Right now, I’ve moved from writing lame things about my job to writing about everything from girls to St. Louis Cardinals baseball. It seems that the only posts that people actually read are the ones that I write about various girls that I have an interest in. No one seems to care about the Cardinals or how my Fantasy Baseball team is doing, they want to hear about whichever girl I’m kinda feeling at the moment.

    Blogging for me over the last 13 months has been a source of healing and peace. Before I even started blogging, I was arrested over a column I wrote for a small newspaper in my hometown (the charges were later dropped) and had a falling out with the editor of that same newspaper.

  9. 9 Ken 7 September, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I started blogging as my frnd introduced me to it. i knew abt it before, but was never sure if i can do it. i m doing it for past few months.. its very satisfactory exp. i m really happy that i started. it allows u to chat with ur self, and get lot help frm ppl around.

    after few post, i ended up with my on thoughts abt blogging.

    my thoughts on blogging….

    http://paradoxpackets.wordpress.com/2006/08/21/blogging-what-it-is/

  10. 10 Dotgs Virtual Assistant Business Blog 10 September, 2006 at 12:01 am

    I have only been blogging for a short time to try and address many questions that I get via e-mail. I simply wasn’t able to answer every question that I got, so blogging seemed like the best way to deal with all of the e-mails/questions. Blogging is defintely not easy as the readers are so different from one another and I suppose normally when you write you have a particular audience that you address but with blogging you try to target your audience but ultimately your really writing for anyone who is reading.

  11. 11 disembedded 11 September, 2006 at 6:33 am

    You state: “…in fact their content is somebody else’s content with a few random idea’s and bits of commentary thrown to the wind.” Isn’t that exactly what THIS blog is??? And as for frequent updating, this blog hasn’t had an original post for a week!

  12. 12 Michael 11 September, 2006 at 7:25 am

    Hello disembedded, you know there’s some truth to that. My only defense is that I have to be a friend first, a college student second, a 9rules Community Leader third and a Best Blog editor fourth so I’m a little swamped now.

  13. 13 disembedded 11 September, 2006 at 11:27 am

    Dear Michael,

    Very sorry that I sounded a bit strident. Knowing now about all the things that you’re having to juggle, I can perfectly understand. With best wishes, Disembedded.

  14. 14 bluejeans51 14 September, 2006 at 1:06 am

    Now that you know good luck at blogging. Best Wishes from Blue’s Place

  15. 16 disembedded 17 September, 2006 at 6:08 am

    Ooops…I really meant Bluejeans!!

  16. 17 Nasir 20 September, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    You are very right that writing a blog is an art.

  17. 18 goutam94 21 September, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    Hi! Very encouraging report as far as people like me who love to write on anything under the sun but end up spending the day doing some other jobs as that’s my bread-n-butter job demands. Blog has one negativity – original writngs can be copied by someone else and get published without you knowing that. Is there any legal safeguard?

  18. 19 joy 23 September, 2006 at 1:54 am

    Blogging’s definitely hard. Not only do we have to be good columnists, per se, we nearly have to write everyday! Or multiple times a day to even get seen. *sighs* Thanks for this post. It puts everything into a very daunting perspective… But that helps me.

  19. 20 rob 27 September, 2006 at 9:26 am

    “To blog, or not to blog: that is the question:”

    I have kept a journal for almost two years only to stop and start writing more creatively through screenplays. From what I have learned about blogging so far, it is absolutely a “yes” for me!

  20. 21 Edseverripit 27 September, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    Blogging is hard, blogging a science-fiction story is harder 😛 Especially if you suffer from a bit of writer’s block and write better during night time 🙂

  21. 22 moseswilbur 5 October, 2006 at 6:58 am

    Original content I can muster. No problem. What gets me is RSS feeds, tags, and other sorts of feed aggregators, of which I have absolutely no skill.

  22. 23 eyespi20 18 October, 2006 at 2:55 am

    Very interesting about creativity and higher pay at the newspaper. Seems I need to look for new work

    I’ve started a new blog here at WordPress and think I have some out-of-the-norm stuff there. Would love to have some of you serious blog-readers take a look. http://eyespi20.wordpress.com/

    è¿é

  23. 24 bluewren 20 October, 2006 at 12:14 pm

    Well there it is once again something I thought was going to be easy and so I start blogging and reading other people’s blogs and except for here not too much sensible stuff going on.

    Yo should read Telstra’s new Bigblog , there are some pretty bit’s of less that average comments generated by stay at home mums and single mums who would have done better to clean their homes and train thier kids to be good citizens than to waste their time on the web blogging to who gives a damn .

    Exposing their pathetic dumb headed selves and thinking it’s entertaining ( it might be if it weren’t so often the same old thing over and over again hubby’s sexist faults kids out of control ).which they often lace with tastless language Ugh!

    Blogging! I dunno once you run out of ideas what yo goin to do.?.

    http://www.patsite.com

  24. 25 Nicevil 30 October, 2006 at 7:15 am

    Blogging is hard for hardworking people. 🙂

    “Work smart, not work hard.”

  25. 27 bluewren 2 November, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Lorelli is a great blogger but then she is on the road and travelling like that obviously stimulates the mind. No thats not it she is a talented writer ….born with it I’d say Just love that viscious hair cut tale …she says she has a blog with all of them on it I must find it can always do with a laugh,

  26. 28 zitakatalin 3 November, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    To blog or not to blog. Indeedy …

  27. 29 dave 3 November, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    I don’t see a problem at all.

    First of all you need more than one blog, and second you don’t need to feel pressure to update it all the time. Relax.

    We have a family blog, but it is not incredibly personal in terms of feelings, poems or anything like that. Not at all, its about things we buy that might be useful to others, about baby stuff that again might be handy for folks, that kind of thing. We even post our recipes.

    I have a business blog that gets updated with new projects. Easier than a “real” web site!

    I also have a blog where I clip articles that interest me (merely because I got fed up with broken links). That’s easy and occasional. Been doin it fur years, and it’s great fun!

    Finally I have a blog of my own opinions and thoughts for no other reason than it stops me posting that sort of thing to the others… and I don’t mean moans, just thoughts on my hobby and interests.

    The aim is to share, inform, amuse and entertain. It’s not a religion, (but it can become an addiction).

  28. 30 qazse 16 November, 2006 at 4:25 am

    I started blogging in order to organize and revise poems I had written over the years and thrown into piles of other papers. To get it all in format has been liberating:

    “I know it sounds cliched to say it, but blogging is freedom.”


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

