Brain Ethics + Unique Hits

We’ve been getting a lot of submissions lately. (It’s strange. I mean Best Blogs isn’t even a blog network.) Keep it up! This submission comes from the blog Brain Ethics. It’s a blog about exploring the brain and they’ve been doing it since December 2005. Not bad. And I hear that they’re getting some unique hits too!

BTW I have a cool side lesson I’ve been wanting to teach for a while. It’s about unique hits and I feel it’s appropriate to talk about them since Brain Ethics the blog is getting them. Okay so a unique hit is when a person visits your site directly and isn’t referred from Google or perhaps another blog. It means that you have loyal readers.

If you have a non wordpress.com blog, be sure that you’re hits aren’t coming from your own IP address. Analysing your statistics isn’t always easy as it sounds. If you’re into that kind of stuff I recommend talking to some marketing guys, it’s their life.

8 Responses to “Brain Ethics + Unique Hits”


  1. 1 Doc Gerry 3 August, 2006 at 9:48 pm

    You’re absolutely right. Had my inital blog at friendster for fun and was getting statistics that came from my own IP address.

    Just explored wordpress as recommended by my brother in law whos into blogging seriously… and am glad to have followed his advise especially that my blog …www.healthwealth.wordpress.com has been one oultlet of my huge plan in leaving a legacy of education not only to my patients but to the general public.

  2. 2 shocking 4 August, 2006 at 8:38 pm

    why care so much about the traffic…. one should blog for himself

  3. 3 Zack 5 August, 2006 at 4:27 am

    Shocking comment…don’t we all care about blog hits?!? I mean, the kids at school can say they don’t care if others like them, but, REALLY?

    Good post.

    -Zack

  4. 4 vivalavi 7 August, 2006 at 12:09 am

    Mmm, I tend to agree with Shocking. My blog is personal, a place for myself–I could care less about blog hits, but I understand you too, Zack.

    Each to his/her own. =)

  5. 5 brianfox 12 August, 2006 at 4:07 am

    Somtimes its good to see bloghits, No matter how personal your blog is, if you are leaving it for the public to read, it means there is some part of you that wants to be appreciated or heard. Other wise you would keep it private and turn a blind eye to the rest of the world.
    my 2 cents, not meant to aggrevate anyone.

  6. 6 Polaris 12 August, 2006 at 6:02 am

    Shocking: I was just reading an essay called “How I Write” by Umberto Eco. In it, he says that the only thing one writes for oneself is a shopping list. Everything else is written to say something to someone.

    The only exception I can find to this is the case of a personal journal or diary. That is truly personal and is not something one would want others to see. But in the case of something as public and connectivity-friendly as a blog (since very few blogs have severe privacy settings), I do think that Eco’s rule applies.

  7. 7 seneca 13 August, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    We may blog for the general reader. We may blog for a very few.

    I began my “Maggie” stories a couple of years ago and posted them on a message board, now bringing them here. It has helped me deal with the emotions of loving her.

    After my first date with the “Little Sailor Girl”, she read the “Maggie” stories. She loved them and the stories brought us closer together.

    My “Little Sailor Girl” stories are really love letters to her, and are now thoughts about the relationship.

    Perhaps I write to better deal with these women emotionally.

  8. 8 tzramsoy 15 August, 2006 at 7:52 am

    Isn’t this really relevant only in the context of the blog? For ourselves, running BrainEthics (see link in original post) is much about discussing the impact that a scientific branch has on society and people’s minds. That implies outreach and someone reading.

    Of course, it’d be OK to have a little tete-a-tete (we’re two authors), but having an outreach is one of two motivations for this blog. The other being the archivation of our thoughts about this issue, in preparation of an in prep book about the topic.

    So if you run a personal blog, then fine if you don’t care about visitors, but if you hope to reach people with what you say and write, you’d be happy to see people reading. (guess the same could be said abour religious bloggers, too). That being said, I’d actually like to have better stats options on wordpress. Getting a number of visitors is OK, but I’d like to know more.

    Best,
    Thomas


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

