Writing Strategies For Your Blog – Part One

kungfustickman

What kind of writer are you? Do you write in long form or do you tend to make your posts short and sweet? And then of course, what are you going to write about? We can't tell you that [what to write] but what I'm hoping to do with this series is educate bloggers on a couple of good writing strategies they can use to improve their blogs.

In journalism there's this thing called a lead that writers use to hook people into the story or in our case the post. The lead or hook will usually give the reader facts right off the bat. Don't lose your readers.

Long doesn't always mean good and short doesn't always mean interesting. When you write for an average audience, you're going to want to be as concise as possible. Have enough information to make the piece worthwhile but at the same time don't make the piece so long that your readers fall asleep at the table.

So there you have it. We'll do a couple more of these in the future. And don't you dare use these words like "concise" or "lead / hook" out of context or in a way that defeats the purpose of the word. Part two of our series will cover writing cliches and originality. I'm looking forward to it.

-Peace out!

23 Responses to “Writing Strategies For Your Blog – Part One”


  1. 1 Dennis Pater 14 June, 2006 at 4:57 am

    I can’t wait.
    It’s always good to know something about it 😀
    I think your helping me/ us a lot.
    bye

  2. 2 Michael 14 June, 2006 at 5:01 am

    No problem. People always like it when we do stuff like this.

  3. 3 onecoolsoul 14 June, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    I agree this info will help me out in writing my blog.

  4. 4 Michael 14 June, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    Once again I’m glad that we could help.

  5. 5 Tammy 14 June, 2006 at 4:06 pm

    It’s my first introduction to Blogs. I do look forward to adding my own stories. Thank you for my first tip!

  6. 6 K 14 June, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    In my opinion, writing doesn’t need to be broad. What I mean is that if blogs are serious all the time, regular visitors might not enjoy it. Like a movie, you need relief as well as action.

  7. 7 Muslim Unity 15 June, 2006 at 4:10 am

    Best of Luck for the best blog!

  8. 8 lovethereasontokeepliving 16 June, 2006 at 3:40 am

    I am very interested in seeing what tips you will provide. Thanks and all the best to you.-Love

  9. 9 livingjourney 16 June, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    K.

    I agree totally… I was really afraid of making my blog all about one theme. I have to have comic relief… life is like that.

    V

  10. 10 jamire 17 June, 2006 at 12:45 am

    im still thinking what topic i will post in my blog.
    thanks for your post, i think im beginning to have an idea..
    well see about that.. 😉

    chao.

  11. 11 range 17 June, 2006 at 1:03 am

    I have modified the way I post on my blog. I think it’s better this way, though I am never sure about it. Before, my posts used to be like articles, on specific subjects and not too long. Now, they are longer, and go from one subject to another. I also include a short intro on the front page as well as either a more descriptive title or an attention grabbing title.

    I don’t know what readers prefer. I enjoy longer posts, it shows you how the mind of the blogger in question works. It’s a lot more personal than posting a series of posts instead of one that englobes more than one subject.

  12. 12 Michael 17 June, 2006 at 1:09 am

    Let me make it clear. Take what I say with a grain of salt. I’m only giving out a list of suggestions. What writing style should you use is up to you. Some styles work better for others.

    Sometimes it’s best to post like you write and sometimes it’s best post like you talk. I just thought that I would get the cogs moving if you know what I mean.

  13. 13 Dennis Pater 17 June, 2006 at 8:12 am

    maybe some personal practice for me to make right sentences.
    Somebody named Cee told me that I need to change that or I can write better in my own language. He sad that as a favour, so now that’s next, but don’t know where to start.
    BTW when is part two coming up 😀

  14. 14 razib 19 June, 2006 at 10:10 pm

    “Long doesn’t always mean good and short doesn’t always mean interesting. When you write for an average audience, you’re going to want to be as concise as possible”
    Exactly. What I feel is that if you want to shine in blogging you must take it seriously. I do not know why many people have a casual attitude towars blogging.

  15. 15 bloglily 20 June, 2006 at 1:33 am

    I’m not sure it’s so much that people are casual about blogging. It’s more that the barriers to entry into blogging are very low –it’s very easy to get started. But once you do (get started I mean), it can be hard to keep going.

    One way to avoid trailing off is to sketch out a list of topics you’d like to cover before you begin, and also to keep that list going, so when you sit down to write, you’ve already got a post in mind.

    In fact, this alone is a terrific topic — what strategies are there to keep your blog fresh and consistently updated? How do you make sure you’re not one of those blogs that trails off at the two or three months mark? Sounds like a topic for a future post on somebody’s blog!

  16. 16 razib 20 June, 2006 at 2:09 am

    Thanks for your nice reply. Yes, you are right. There is no entry barrier for blogging and that is perhaps why it is growing so fast.

  17. 17 lisa 20 June, 2006 at 6:41 am

    when starting our own blog we thought it was going to be complicated. But there are so many wonderful blogs out there helping NEW BLOGGERS . This “open source” concept is what the entire internet should be about. Thanks for your tips

  18. 18 livingjourney 20 June, 2006 at 7:48 am

    What I have done is in my about page, I have told my readers that there will be two extensive posts a week ( meaning lengthy ) and shorter more personal posts at anytime, and that they are all categorised for easy access.

    Some people may not want to read my theological bla bla bla posts, which they are the lengthy ones.

    But some people may just want to read my personal or humorous one, which are much shorter in length.

    I thought it was only fair to give an outline of what to expect as a new reader. If they happen to fall on one of my lengthy ones…and think to themselves .. Wow I can’t be bothered reading posts like that everyday. Then hopefully they will see from the about me page, that those posts are only submitted twice a week!

    I love having the ability to categorize, that makes blogging so much easier!

    V

  19. 19 anonymouse 20 June, 2006 at 10:19 am

    Thanks. Very insightful.

  20. 20 Claire Millington 30 June, 2006 at 12:50 am

    I’m really looking forwards to the next installment of the topic – cliches; recognising, avoiding and remedying. So here’s a big UP for this one please!

    Suppose I should get on with what I want to be paid for – writing – and put off procrasting for another day…

  21. 21 Claire Millington 5 July, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    Still waiting for the next exciting installment…come on, don’t leave a teaser like that hanging. Please.

  22. 22 Lady Ingenious! 6 September, 2006 at 3:36 am

    Interesting blog!

  23. 23 paxrock 24 September, 2006 at 3:54 am

    This is some good advice.

    This entry actually gave me an idea to ask for a bit of help. I’ve had my wordpress blog for a few months now but it is still developing. I was wondering if you (or any commenter interested) could take a look over my blog and give any advice or ideas. I’m not asking for a review on here or anything like that, just some helpful critical feedback.


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

