Best Blog of the Month (April)

There isn't any. (Although a number of us had voted for oneduasan.)

We missed the selection for March and it is almost half way through May now. We selected blog for Janurary and Feburary, but I'm thinking should we even continue?

11 blogs were featured in April. Our statistics look depressing:

  • January 41 posts
  • Feburary 28 posts
  • March 22 posts
  • April 13 posts
  • May 3 posts (so far)

The only consolation appears to be the fact that we managed to prove:

More editors, less posts.

Consider this.

  • January: 1 editor
  • Feburary: 3 editors
  • March: 6 editors
  • April: 8 editors
  • May: 8 editors

This post was originally meant for the editor mailing list. On second thought I like to hear from the readers too.

  1. Do you think this blog has outlived its usefulness? (Was it even useful at all?)
  2. Do you see this blog as another personal blog or a community project?
  3. What ideas do you have for this blog going forward?
8 Responses to “Best Blog of the Month (April)”


  1. 1 Michael 17 May, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    Hello Ken

    I completely understand what you're saying about the "more editors, less posts" business. In theory, we editors were supposed to relieve some of the posting burden and many of us aren't living up to our end of the bargain.

    1. No I don't think this blog is done for yet. WordPress.com is a perfectly respectable place to blog. There are plenty of good blogs out there. Although things could get tricky if the "next" button remains broken.

    2. Best Blogs on WordPress is most likely a community blog. That however doesn't mean that individual writers shouldn't add their personal touches to their posts. Personally I view Best Blogs as a personal site.

    I love finding and writing about new sites I encounter on wordpress. I think this is a community blog in the sense that it's about the community but personal in the sense that I take personal pride when posting. Does that make sense?

    3. You want to know the truth. Better committed editors with unique writing styles. Unique writing shows that you're not "faking it" and devotion shows well devotion.

    Perhaps we need to screen our editors? I wish Lorelle would come and write for us.

  2. 2 bloglily 17 May, 2006 at 10:21 pm

    I really like this idea of a selection of blogs, chosen by people with different points of view. I was sad to see the slow down in posting here recently.

    Maybe part of the trouble is that without knowing it, you and your editors have set too daunting a goal. Finding the “best blog” on a site where there are almost 200,00 blogs is a big endeavor and it might be making it hard for your editors to send in their picks, knowing how much it matters to readers and how random the selection can be. I know I’d curl into a ball if I I had a job like that (although I’d love to help out if you need more editors, as long as I don’t have to pick definitive bests) On my blog, I’ve begun a feature called Saturday Morning Blogroll — the rules are that you spend thirty minutes clicking through “next blog” and then you write about the most intriguing things you find there. It was fun and I found things that inspired and delighted me. Knowing I’m only going to spend thirty minutes on a Saturday morning doing that makes me less anxious about getting it right. After all I’m not so much getting it right, or looking for the best, as looking for what I liked in thirty minutes of clicking. And even without the “next” feature, there’s always the possibility of choosing one tag and then clicking through it to see what’s interesting there. And then you have a theme — for example, what are people saying about “living” these days?

    I do love hearing a lot of different voices on your blog — I think that’s what’s so wonderful about blogging, the multiplicity of view points and the serendipity of finding them. You’ve done a wonderful job setting up a place for that to happen and I hope very much that you continue doing it.I for one will be a frequent visitor!

  3. 3 Miss Cris 18 May, 2006 at 2:17 am

    Because I am new to wordpress I can’t say too much as I’m still figuring the ins and outs of it all.

    It does seem like a community type project but I think there could be more structure and format to the site. I saw it linked in my dashboard, but quite frankly, I’m a bit confused/scattered about the order of things, how things happen and the like.

    I would have to think that something like this would no longer be available, but I think having a lil more of a format would be helpful.

  4. 4 Zack 18 May, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    Hey.

    So, pleeeeeeeese don’t quit doing this. It is such a good idea…
    And, you must look at your blog stats; for the suprisingly low number of posts, you still have A LOT of comments and visitors.

    So, long story short…keep it up. Until the end there you guys were doing great.

    Also…maybe fire someone? Maybe make deadlines? I dunno…just don’t quit.

    -Zack

  5. 5 litlove 19 May, 2006 at 12:27 am

    I think this is a great idea in principle and shouldnt be abandoned. It could do with a tighter focus – after all, isn’t that what you guys are always advising the bloggers to have? It should definitely be a community project but guided by the editors. Perhaps each month bloggers could post links to favourite sites with specific themes – politics or sport or music or whatever. Or there could be further discussion on what makes for a good blog, and how to fine tune your site. There’s so much potential here, it’s worth the effort to work it out.

  6. 6 59ideas 23 May, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks for the support!

    Michael, it’s great to have you in the team. I know we have different opinions and I really welcome that. You are right to say that it brings personal touch.

    bloglily, thanks for the 30minutes blogroll idea. We actually had a roster with 2 editors for each day of the week. It didn’t work.
    Do you think you like to take up editor for Saturday?

    Miss Cris, please let us hear any idea you have on structure and format.
    As it is, this blog is, well, a blog. I would like to have an auto list of all the sites mentioned but it can’t be done except writing it as a new post or page.

    Zack, thanks for pointing out the comment part. I notice my style of post do not attracts as much comment as some editors because I do not have that end (more comment) in mind.
    But, indeed, comment count could be as important a yardstick for editor as post count.

    litlove, the theme idea could certainly be developed further. The balance is to have a theme and yet able to capture the diversity on WordPress.com.
    One idea I had tried without much success is foreign language blogs. With English post just 1/3 of all post, we are missing out the other 2/3. (I got the number here, WordPress.com’s distribution should be different)

  7. 7 dennispater 3 June, 2006 at 5:57 am

    I just came here for the first time, and I know that I come more around here. My blog isn’t that great, but every day is another day that happened something, but I’ve you need to post about it??? Haha but I trying to post my things. Any way I’m dropping of I think you need to keep doing this because now we can see what greet blog are around the world and a search machine don’t find blogs so please keep on going.

    I keep on reading this pages and I put this into my rss to keep up whit it.

    Thanks to show me those block and I apologize for my language

  8. 8 Tom 4 June, 2006 at 4:36 am

    Ken:

    I’m new to WordPress, still feeling my way in the dark. Blogs such as yours are a great way for us novices to shorten the learning curve and get ideas. I’m sure yours is a thankless job, so permit me to say “thanks”. People do appreciate what you do. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

