Monsieur Tode writes

So this is an interesting idea. Monsieur Tode is a student at the University of Hawaii and is using his blog to publish his research work in progress and, one presumes, to seek feedback on his work.

This feedback is vital in academia, but using a blog as a mechanism for the feedback is new to me. I wonder if academic blogs in Universities could catch on?

http://monsieurtode.wordpress.com/

– J

9 Responses to “Monsieur Tode writes”


  1. 1 teen 21 March, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    sigh! What do I do to be featured here..?

  2. 2 Jon 21 March, 2006 at 8:11 pm

    you’ve pretty much done the first step : highlight the fact that you’ve got a blog that you want someone to take a look at.

    J

  3. 3 Shawn 22 March, 2006 at 1:31 pm

    I was an academic for a long time – recently moved into the private sector. I have to say that I do not think that blogs will catch on as a feedback mechanism. It is more likely that it will be used as a way to criticize rather than help. However, one can hope tha thte world of academia will take advantage of this resource.

  4. 4 Adrian 22 March, 2006 at 2:39 pm

    Thank you for featuring my site!

  5. 5 teen 22 March, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    Ha ha Jon. Very funny. I’ve been blogging for about 4 months and I have already made it to the top posts thrice.

  6. 6 gimster 22 March, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    @ Shawn: I’m trying to get my students to criticize my posts and the articles I link to.

    @ the blog owner and contributor: How about adding a category for academia? Or education?

  7. 7 59ideas 25 March, 2006 at 3:15 pm

    A while back we also features blog used for class assignment.

    I believe the academia is catching on the idea and services like wordpress.com creates the infrastructure. No more requesting for approval to setup a blog system for class.

    Could this be a huge untapped market for blog?

  8. 8 teen 26 March, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    Hey I’ve been feature on 59ideas.com and tagged under. for-bestblogs

  9. 9 khlari 16 May, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    I too am publishing work for my MA (which is in Creative Writing)on my blog, which I am just about to transfer to wordpress (tomight actually). I find that you get more open feedback than in a class situation, with more varied ideas coming back which again feed into new directions and new work……

    Also, on a blog you get people from all over, not just from a small insulated writing community, and not just from your own country….I think it’s a good thing, encourages academia to open its horizons…….


Leave a Reply

About

Best Blog on Wordpress searches for and reviews the best blogs on wordpress.com We also write articles to guide new and old bloggers!

